Project Description

The department manages the State’s transport system and is committed to providing a surface transport network that is safe, meets community expectations, makes a positive contribution to the economy and has minimal impact on the environment.

The department’s Aviation Policy Section provides aviation policy advice to Ministers, to other agencies and to the Commonwealth on the State’s interests, carries out market and industry research to support this role and administers the Aerodrome Fees Act 1998 and the Air Transport (Route Licensing-Passenger Services) Act 2002. The latter enables the Minister for Transport to declare and licence intrastate routes when it is in the public interest to do so in order to maintain or recover a marginal service.

The Section also manages the department’s contributions to the Local Government Association Mutual Liability Scheme for regional/remote aerodrome inspections and reporting officer training and to the Commonwealth Remote Airstrip Upgrade Program.

Regional airline operators in South Australia First para here

Regional Express, Alliance Airlines, Sharp Airlines and Qantaslink offer RPT services to eight regional centres within South Australia, and to three centres interstate.

Airports and airstrips

Adelaide airport is the main commercial airport in South Australia. All scheduled domestic and international flights into Adelaide depart and arrive from Adelaide airport.

Parafield airport is Adelaide’s secondary airport. It provides general aviation, pilot training and aircraft maintenance services.

There are over 400 regional airports and airstrips within the state.

Regional airports with scheduled services include Ceduna, Coober Pedy, Kingscote, Mount Gambier, Olympic Dam, Port Augusta, Port Lincoln and Whyalla. These airports, except for Olympic Dam, are operated by local councils. Olympic Dam is operated by BHP Billiton.

There are more than 90 other airports used by commercial charter, the Royal Flying Doctor Service for medical clinics and patient evacuations, and other emergency service providers. These airports are mostly operated by local councils and local communities. A few are operated by mining companies and private owners.

The South Australian Government owns Leigh Creek airport, leased and operated by Flinders NRG that mines coal at Leigh Creek, and 10 airstrips in regional reserves operated by National Parks and Wildlife SA.

The Australian Government Department of Defence owns and operates Edinburgh, Woomera and four smaller airports.

Contact Information

GPO Box 1533
Adelaide SA 5001

Phone: (08) 8343 2222